Subscribe to our Newsletter     
My Festival   |   Accreditations   |  

HomeThe Festival | Previous editions 21 Edition

Previous editions

History of previous editions of the Malaga Festival

21 Edition

13 to 22 April 2018

The twenty-first Festival of Málaga brought together a group of artists. to two heavyweights in the film industry, directors Guillermo del Toro and Juan Antonio Bayona, to pay tribute to them for their successful international career. The Mexican filmmaker visited the the contest to collect the Málaga Award a month after having garnered four Óscar – by ‘The Shape of Water’. For his part, Bayona, protagonist of the Retrospectiva Award, took advantage of & oacute; A break in the post-production tasks of ‘Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom’ to go to Malaga on the occasion of this recognition.

Ten Spanish films and nine Latin American titles made up the competition of the Official Section of the twenty-first Festival of Málaga, a contest that was commissioned by Málaga. to open ‘The laws of thermodynamics’, directed by Mateo Gil.

The intimate drama ‘Les distàs; the Golden Biznaga for best Spanish film, while ‘Benzinho’, by Gustavo Pizzi, won the prize. the highest award for the best Ibero-American film, as well as the Special Critics Award.

Trapé’s first feature film. also brought together the awards for best director and best actress went to Alexandra Jiménez, an award that was shared with Valeria Bertuccelli, star of ‘The Queen of Fear’ (The Queen of Fear), a feature film that won the Special Jury Prize together with ‘Casi 40’, by David Trueba.

The comedy ‘My Dear Brotherhood’ conquered the Biznaga del Público and the award for best supporting actress (Carmen Flores). The Galician interpreter Javier Rey won the award for best actor in the contest for his role in ‘Endless’ the award for best supporting actor for ‘Los bueno demonios’, a Cuban film that also won the awards for best script and best music.

The unique way of understanding Rodrigo Sorogoyen's cinema was recognized with the Málaga Talent Award (Eloy de la Iglesia) in this twenty-first edition, in which Mónica Randall received the award. the Biznaga Ciudad del Paraíso and the costume designer Paco Delgado the Ricardo Franco Award.

Download Awards list

El realizador mexicano Guillermo del Toro posa con el monolito del Premio Málaga 

La actriz malagueña Maggie Civantos se hace un ‘selfie’ con una admiradora en la alfombra roja 

La singular forma de entender el cine de Rodrigo Sorogoyen fue reconocida con el Premio Málaga Talent 

María León y Javier Rey, protagonistas de la película ‘Sin fin’, dirigida por los hermanos Alenda, posan en el photocall de Muelle Uno 

La exposición fotográfica ‘20 Festival de Málaga: Otra mirada’, de Chus Alonso, que reflejaba la anterior edición del certamen 

Foto de familia con todos los premiados en el palmarés del 21 Festival de Málaga 

We inform you that this website uses cookies of its own and of third-parties in order to allow the website to function (for example, manage acceptance of the use of cookies), and to analyze web traffic. You will be able to select the cookies you wish to authorize. For more information about cookies on this website click here.
Aceptar Rechazar Ajustes
Seleccione las cookies que desea aceptar

Save Changes Close
If you want to stay informed about all the news from the Malaga Film Festival
To Our Newsletter
Fill out only if you are a media outlet
To Our Newsletter
Thank you for subscribing to our Newsletter!
Help us know a little more about you so we can send you personalized information
kızılay dershanemezun dershane